Research4Life APC Waivers: Publishers and Eligible Countries

Countries

Group A (free access) 82 countries

Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Belau, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Kinshasa), Cook Islands, Djibouti, Dominica, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Niue, North Korea, Palestinian Territory, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, São Tomé and Príncipe, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Group B (low-cost access) 42 countries

Albania, Algeria, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Fiji, Gabon, Georgia, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kosovo, Libya, Mauritius, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Tunisia, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam

Source: www.research4life.org ↗. Each publisher may use its own version of these groups; the publisher pages below show the exact list each one uses.

Check your author team

Co-authors (where they work)

Only the country is needed: without a journal you get every publisher's result for your author team. Free. No sign-up. Uses the publishers' published rules, last verified 27 October 2026.

Publishers and journals using this scheme

Publisher or journalWhat it givesWhose affiliation countsOfficial source
ElsevierAutomatic 100% waiver for Research4Life Group A and 50% for Group B in fully open access journals, but only when every author is in an eligible countryEvery authorelsevier.com ↗
WileyFull waiver or 50% discount by Wiley's country list (close to Research4Life), applied automatically when enough of the authors are eligibleHalf of all authorsauthors.wiley.com ↗
HindawiHindawi journals now follow Wiley's waiver policyHalf of all authorsauthors.wiley.com ↗
SAGEAutomatic full waiver for Research4Life Group A and a discount for Group B, by the corresponding author's affiliationCorresponding author onlysagepub.com ↗
Oxford University PressAutomatic waiver or discount in fully open access journals by an EIFL and Research4Life based country listCorresponding author onlyacademic.oup.com ↗
Cambridge University PressAutomatic 100% waiver for Research4Life Group A and 50% for Group B through the Cambridge Open Equity InitiativeCorresponding author onlycambridge.org ↗
PLOSFree publication for Research4Life Group A authors without external funding, reduced fees for Group B, and need-based fee assistanceCorresponding author onlyplos.org ↗
Copernicus PublicationsAutomatic 100% waiver for Research4Life Group A and B, and 50% for emerging economiesCorresponding author onlybiogeosciences.net ↗
MIT PressJournal-specific waivers; Quantitative Science Studies waives the full APC for Research4Life countriesCorresponding author onlydirect.mit.edu ↗
Royal Society of ChemistryFull waiver for Research4Life Group A and B, and a reduced APC for India, Indonesia and the PhilippinesCorresponding author onlyrsc.org ↗
Cell PressCell Press follows Elsevier's Research4Life rule: every author must be in an eligible countryEvery authorcell.com ↗
ThiemeAutomatic 100% waiver for Research4Life Group A and 50% for Group B in gold open access journalsCorresponding author onlythieme.com ↗
IOP Publishing100%, 70% or 30% discount by World Bank income group (2026 pilot), automatic when all authors are eligibleCorresponding author + majoritypublishingsupport.iopscience.iop.org ↗
AIP PublishingFull waiver for its Group A countries and a reduced APC for Group B countriesCorresponding author onlypublishing.aip.org ↗
SPIEReduced APC under a special economic consideration list; the list could not be readCase by casemedicalimaging.spiedigitallibrary.org ↗
ACM100% waiver for authors in EIFL and Research4Life countries, plus hardship waivers and ACM Open institutional coverageCorresponding author onlyacm.org ↗
IETIET journals are published with Wiley and follow Wiley's waiver policyHalf of all authorstheiet.org ↗
Science Advances (AAAS)Automatic full waiver in Science Advances for Research4Life Group A and B, and hardship discountsCorresponding author onlyscience.org ↗
PLOS ONE journalPLOS's own Research4Life fee assistance: free for Group A and USD 940 for Group B (instead of USD 2,477), both only for research without external funding; otherwise need-based fee assistanceNot stated by the journalplos.org ↗
BMJFull waiver only when every author is in a country on BMJ's list and the research is unfunded; partial discounts case by caseEvery authorauthors.bmj.com ↗
American Society for MicrobiologyAutomatic full waiver for Research4Life Group A and a partial waiver for Group BCorresponding author onlyjournals.asm.org ↗
Portland PressFull waiver for Research4Life (HINARI) Group A and a discount for Group BCorresponding author onlyportlandpress.com ↗
Microbiology SocietyAutomatic 100% waiver for Research4Life Group A and EIFL countries, 50% for Group BCorresponding author onlymicrobiologyresearch.org ↗
Lancet open access journals journalExempt from payment when the main funder, or for unfunded work the majority of authors' institutions, is in a Research4Life countryMajority of institutionsthelancet.com ↗
Heliyon journalHeliyon's own discount on request: 100% for authors from Research4Life Group A countries and 50% for Group B, only for research without funding for the APCNot stated by the journalcell.com ↗
KeAiResearch4Life waiver (100% Group A, 50% Group B) set per journal, and many society-sponsored journals with no APCCorresponding author onlykeaipublishing.com ↗
BioscientificaWaiver or discount for countries on the Research4Life lists, on request at first submissionCase by casebioscientifica.com ↗
University of California Press75% discount for Research4Life Group A and B corresponding authors, plus a fee waiver fundCorresponding author onlyonline.ucpress.edu ↗

Other schemes: EIFL agreements, World Bank income groups, Publisher country lists, Country-tiered APC pricing, National agreements (ONOS India), No APC (diamond and Subscribe to Open), Discretionary hardship waivers, Institutional and read & publish deals. APC waiver checker →

Frequently asked questions

What is Research4Life?

Free and low-cost access programme run by UN agencies and publishers. Its Group A (free) and Group B (low-cost) country lists are the most widely used basis for APC waivers.

Which publishers use Research4Life for APC waivers?

Among the publishers we checked: Elsevier, Wiley, Hindawi, SAGE, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, PLOS, Copernicus Publications, MIT Press, Royal Society of Chemistry, Cell Press, Thieme, IOP Publishing, AIP Publishing, SPIE, ACM, IET, Science Advances (AAAS), PLOS ONE, BMJ. Each one decides its own percentages and co-author rule.

Does being on the list guarantee a waiver?

No. The list decides which countries can qualify; each publisher then applies its own rule on whose affiliation counts, on funding and on journal type. Check the publisher page and confirm with the journal before submitting.

Before you submit

Source, method and date. Each publisher's rule was read from its official waiver page (linked on every row) and the country lists from Research4Life, EIFL, the World Bank income classification and the publishers' own lists. Last verified: 27 October 2026. Policies change, Research4Life updates its lists every January and the World Bank every July, and some waivers are temporary or decided case by case. The checker reads the published rules; it cannot promise a waiver. Confirm on the publisher's page before you submit. ScholarsColab is not affiliated with any publisher listed here; logos are trademarks of their owners, shown only to name the publishers whose rules we read.